Recipe Failure

Sometimes things do not go as planned. This seems to happen to me a lot. Especially in the kitchen. Luckily, I’ll eat just about anything, so I’ve yet to go starving as the result of a recipe meltdown.

I’m currently working on a project (details to come down the road) where I need to create a new recipe that falls within a few guidelines. The guidelines are pretty simple. The inspiration? Missing. Or maybe it’s the Execution. Or a nice combination of both. That’s probably it.

I started out decent enough.

Nothing too crazy..

It’s hard to go wrong when steak is involved.

And I actually liked how it was progressing.

Is there a better aroma than sauteed mushrooms and onions???

But in the end. It just didn’t come together how I would have liked.

There were other ingredients involved (corn tortillas, feta, quinoa). But it just wasn’t what I had envisioned. It didn’t hit the “right” spots and I was left a little unsatisfied, even though individually, I liked all of the different components. Methinks I have some work to do.

My dinner guest was very nice and said it was good. I think I would’ve preferred the criticism. Maybe I had built it up too much in my mind during the day? Or maybe I’m like the soup nazi – criticize once and you’re out and he was onto me! Hmm…I know one thing is for sure – I think I need to lay off the Seinfeld re-runs. Oh yah, and try again 😉

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

