Butter Makes Everything Better

Yes, olive oil is amazing. I use it daily. BUT, sometimes only butter will do.

This spring I have been purchasing a lot of radishes. Mostly because they are cheap – 3 bunches for a dollar! And also, because I love their bitter taste and crisp texture. So this week I decided to play around and saute them. With butter.

Aren't they lovely?

In a pan with a little salt and pepper

Getting nice and brown

Ready for dinner!

I’m thinking of how to best describe their taste…by sauteing them they completely lose their bitter taste and take on a flavor very similar to pan roasted potatoes. They are crunchy and buttery and salty. In a good way. I hope that makes sense.

I decided to add them to a salad but I could see chopping them a little coarser (maybe just halve or quarter them?) and serving them as a side dish.

Honestly, even if you’ve never been a radish fan I would suggest trying this. At just over $0.30 a bunch it’ll be a cheap experiment. Be adventurous!

Sauteed Radishes

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch radishes
  • 2 TBSP olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Rinse radishes to remove all dirt. Remove the greens and the very tips of the radishes. Slice into 1/4″ slices/coins.
  2. In a pan over med heat add 2 TBSP olive oil. Add radishes to pan.
  3. Add a generous pinch of salt and pepper to radishes and allow to cook until nice and brown. Stir occasionally to avoid burning/sticking to pan.
  4. Serve as a side or a crunchy addition to a chopped salad.

So what do you think? Willing to give it a try? Or am I simply off my rocker? (Be kind….)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

