The Weekend Is Practically Upon Us

This week has flown by and I love it! Every week should have Mondays off ๐Ÿ˜‰

So in that spirit, I’ve been determined to stay positive this week. And I’ll admit it – it’s been difficult a few times. I’m sure like many of you I have been following that trial this week. To say that it’s a tragic situation is making light of it. Too say that it’s probably one of thousands a year doesn’t make it any sadder to me. (Yes the media coverage was excessive. But that doesn’t make it any less sad.) So, the legal side of me (damn you law school!) understands why a not guilty verdict was handed down (mostly circumstantial evidence resulting in lack of evidence for the elements of the crime, blah blah blah) but the human side of me is so disappointed. The reason for so little evidence? The Defendant lied for months and misled authorities and searchers! It’s frustrating and probably only a small taste of what happens on daily basis. To my friends who work at the DAs office or specialize in criminal defense – my hat’s off to you. I don’t think I could stomach it. Life’s unfair. But it’s not horrible. These are the times when I’m reminded that I have a pretty swell life. I’ve never gone hungry, I’ve never been in danger of being homeless and I have the most wonderful set of family and friends (shout out to my mom who is celebrating her birthday and is still smoking hot!). So yes, focusing on the positive. And my apologies for the rant.

Rant officially over.

On to some things we really care about… eats! (Good ones too!)

20110707-084604.jpg

Wasa crackers, laughing cow cheese, sliced strawberries and deli turkey

My new favorite treat:

20110707-084520.jpg

Salad greens, cucumber, chili lime shrimp, homemade miso dressing

Simple salad with leftover shrimp:

20110707-084543.jpg

Cilantro lime quinoa, chili lime shrimp kabobs, grilled veggies (zucchini, bell pepper, red onions and corn)

Leftovers from night before:

Heaven:

20110707-084626.jpg

Chocolate covered waffle cone chunks. Done.

Who says food doesn’t make you happier?

So listen, you need to do yourself a favor and MAKE that miso dressing. It is light, refreshing, sweet and tangy at the same time. I can’t wait to experiment with this recipe in the coming weeks!

Ginger Miso Dressing

Ingredients:

  • 2 TBSP White Miso paste (you can buy this in the refrigerated section of most grocery stores in the same area you would typically find tofu– Bonus: it’s cheap!)
  • 4 TBSP rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1/2 TBSP – 1 TBSP honey (depends how sweet you want the dressing)
  • 1 tsp powdered ginger (I didn’t have any fresh ginger, but you could probably substitute 1 TBSP of fresh ground ginger for the powdered stuff)

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients in a food processor/blender. You could also do this by hand with a whisk ๐Ÿ™‚
  2. Enjoy!

Yes. It’s that simple. And people, it’s THAT delicious.

So what’s keeping a smile on your face this week?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. A Quick and Easy 10 HOUR Dinner |

Leave a Reply

