Toe-may-toe Toe-mah-toe

Yuck. Yuck. Yuuuuuck.

All tomatoes ARE not the same for me. I cannot stand tomatoes in raw form. You will never hear me order a burger without requesting “no tomatoe please.” However, in salsa or in a sauce? Sure, why not. I can even stomach a little bit if it’s roasted. It’s worth noting, however, if there isn’t enough lime or onion in the salsa you might find me scraping off most of the tomato chunks.

It’s strange. I know. But it’s what I like. Or rather, dislike.

Other things I don’t like?

This does not do my body good

MILK. It’s not because I’m dairy-free. Good lord no. I consume far too much cheese and icecream to ever consider going dairy free. But the thought of enjoying a glass of milk makes me sick to my stomach. Ask my parents, they will tell you that I used to scrape the cereal off my spoon so as to not accidentally consume a big gulp of milk, and used to call their bluff by sitting at the table for hours, refusing to drink my milk so I could leave. Nope. No milk for me.

Surprisingly, I enjoy almond milk. Though this is a cautious endeavor. I have yet to actually sip it plain. I’m afraid it’ll remind me of actual cow’s milk and I’ll…for lack of a better word…barf.

Lastly, I’m going to call out almond butter. It’s. Not. That. Great.

Thanks, but I'll pass.

I think I just committed a foodblogger crime. Oh well. I don’t like it that much. I don’t really care for peanut butter that much either. (Apart from the occassional PB&J). I think it’s dry. And I think it’s just ‘meh.’ I’ve tried everything from Skippy to Justin’s. It’s just not for me. And I certainly don’t think it’s the magical ingredient that transforms everything it touches. You would think it’s made of unicorn fairy dust the way some people go on about how a spoonful of peanut butter transformed their oatmeal and made it the best thing ever. Please.

I’m sure I could come up with many more, but these are the biggest offenders. I’m not sure why I felt compelled to share all of this today…must be a Monday thing. Also, not trying to offend anyone. If you love peanut/almond butter and it’s ability to make liver and onions the most tastiest, edible thing ever – awesome. 😉

What are some foods that everyone else seems to love that you can’t stand? (Don’t be afraid, this is a safe place…)

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I’m with you on the milk. Yuck!

    Reply
  2. So weird, I hate tomatoes and just thinking about them makes me cringe, and peanut butter just doesn’t even seem appetizing to me and the smell, I can’t stand it. Glad someone else understands.

    Reply
  3. ree altavilla

     /  July 11, 2011

    I remember the milk battles…..oy vey………I can truley say that the girl does not like milk. Never has, never will.

    Reply
  4. Hehe…. There wasn’t enough sugar in the world to get me to drink a glass of milk!

    Reply
  5. I hear ya girl. Milk is NASTY. I refused to drink it growing up as well. And I still stay far away. My hubby drinks 2 gallons a WEEK! So gross.

    I also totall don’t get the obsession with almond butter…I’d take PB any day.

    Reply
  1. Hold On A Second |

Leave a Reply

