A Quick and Easy 10 HOUR Dinner

Wait, what? 10 hours? Easy? Yes. It is both of those things.

The other night I made my first pot of black beans. I know. I’m a rockstar 😉

But seriously- I can’t believe how great they turned out! They blow canned beans out of the water in both price and taste. Score!

So while the beans took 8 hours – 6 hours of soaking and 2 hours of cooking, the rest of my dinner came together in a snap. And it was delicious!

The steps:

Very important note: that is steam coming from the beans. Hence the “blurriness”…

That would be a mix of spinach, short grain brown rice, black beans, and a hard boiled egg.

I don’t think dinners get much easier or cheaper than this. All of these ingredients were made ahead of time in big batches and stored in the refrigerator. So this took 5 minutes to heat up and mix.

Honestly, I think it would be even better with a few spoonfuls of salsa (or guac!) on top. It didn’t occur to me until afterwards. Instead, I added a tbsp or two of some leftover vinaigrette to add a little extra flavor and moisture.

It was even better for lunch 🙂

Crackers and laughing cow is not mandatory but strongly suggested recommended.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Dianne

     /  July 13, 2011

    Beans and rice – college students the world over are suddenly gourmets!

    Reply
    • You’re leaving ENTIRE countries out of the mix (I’m looking at you – Cuba). But honestly, these beans were awesome. Lots of garlic, cilantro and cumin. Not just a can of beans…

      I’m a dork.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

