My Tummy Isn’t Nearly Big Enough

No. I’m not referring to my flat, barely-there stomach (HA!) I’m referring to the inadequacy of my actual stomach to accommodate how much of this I want to eat.

20110720-100950.jpg

This was my plate x 3

Essentially just three ingredients. But all three ingredients combine to make an out of this world, easy dinner. Let’s just say I made what I estimated to be 4 servings and I barely have any left for today’s lunch.

This is so flavorful, filling and easy.

If you’ve ever been nervous about trying tofu – this is the recipe that will make you a believer. (I suppose you could substitute the tofu for chicken, but that would be safe…and unoriginal)

20110720-100852.jpg

All cut up and ready for a marinade bath

Braised Garlic Tofu and Green Beans

Ingredients:

  • 1 block extra firm tofu
  • 3-4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tbsp minced fresh ginger (or 1 tbsp ground)
  • 1 1/2 TBSP agave syrup (could substitute with brown sugar or honey)
  • 1/3 cup light soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp toasted sesame oil (optional)
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 4 cups green beans, rinsed and trimmed (estimating – just grab a few handfuls)
  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • Sesame seeds (optional)
20110720-100908.jpg

I spy with my little eye delicious chunks of garlic!

Directions:

  1. Press and drain your tofu. I do this by placing two paper towels on a plate and laying the tofu on top. I then lay an additional paper towel over the top of the tofu and place a heavy bowl or appliance over the tofu and let sit for 20-3o minutes so that the excess water is allowed to drain. I then pat the tofu dry with a fresh paper towel.
  2. Cut the block of tofu into cubes – about 1″ thick and place in a shallow dish (will be marinating the tofu in this dish).
  3. In a seperate bowl mix the soy sauce, garlic, ginger, agave syrup, sesame oil and pepper flakes.
  4. Pour the mixture over the tofu and combine to cover all the pieces. Cover and refrigerate for 1-2 hours (I was hungry and only marinated for an hour).
  5. In a pan over medium heat (almost medium high) add the olive oil. Place the tofu in the pan. Reserve the extra marinade in your dish (for later.)
  6. Allow to cook 5-6 minutes on each side, stirring occasionally so that the tofu doesn’t stick on the pan. You want to get a nice deep brown color developing.
  7. After the tofu has been cooking 10-12 minutes, add the green beans and cover the entire pan for 3-4 minutes in order to steam the green beans. They should turn a bright green color.
  8. Transfer the contents of the pan into a large serving dish.
  9. Take the reserved/leftover marinade and pour into the pan. Allow to bring to a soft boil in order to reduce.
  10. Serve tofu over brown rice (I prefer short grain) and pour the reduced sauce over the entire place.
  11. Garnish with sesame seeds if desired.
20110720-100923.jpg

I love dishes where you can just throw everything into the same pan

I know there seems to be a lot of steps, but it’s really easy. It’s also something that can be tweaked to accomodate whatever is in your pantry/refrigerator – I had some green beans that were on it’s last leg so that’s why I threw those in. I also happen to have a lot of Asian ingredients (ginger, sesame oil, sesame seeds) because I use those ingredients often for different stir frys and salad dressings. They’re very inexpensive and an easy way to add a lot of flavor with few ingredients.

So in sum, the nuttiness of the brown rice, the sweet and garlicy flavor of the tufu, and the crispness of the green beans all combine to make a seriously delicious dinner. I really think you need to give this a try.

20110720-100938.jpg

Any tofu lovers out there? What’s your favorite way to prepare it?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I Needed This |

Leave a Reply

