I’m A Bum

Okay, so last Wednesday I promised to type out the recipe to my zucchini rollup thingamajigs the next day. But then a crazy thing happened. Around 3:30 PM the power went out. My first thought, as I was sitting at my desk, was ‘damn girl – did you pay the power bill?’ A few seconds later, I realized that I was in fact up-to-date. So now what? Well, turns out that I was not alone and the entire county of San Diego would be out of power for the rest of the day. Lame. My first thought? What am I going to eat for dinner. My second thought? I don’t have any wine or beer at home!

20110912-075020.jpg

My second thought ruled the night. Beers were purchased. Priorities…man.

By the way, I need to buy a proper flashlight. The collection of tea candles I have do not cut it in case of power emergencies. Lesson learned. Luckily I surrounded myself with some gents who had said flashlights. Phew!

Anyway, on to the zucchini! I know you all were dying to know….

The ingredients (this was seriously ALL I had in my refrigerator…well that and a few trader joe’s jalapeno sausages.)

20110912-074837.jpg

I ran out of propane for my grill. Grill pan for the win!

20110912-074904.jpg

Aren’t the grill marks lovely?

Roasted Bell Peppers. No big deal.

20110912-074929.jpg

Stuff em’. Don’t be gross.

20110912-074950.jpg

Umm…That was pretty much it. I think they make a great appetizer. I ate it all by myself, but it could easily be shared by two as an appetizer. It went well with the other two ingredients I had in my house…the aforementioned sausage and some leftover pasta I had. You should try it. Not like zucchini is in season or anything. (It is.)

Zucchini Rolls Stuffed with Lemon Basil Goat Cheese and Roasted Bell Peppers

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium sized zucchini sliced long-wise into 1/4″ strips (I discarded the ends because it was all skin and had 4 strips remaining)
  • 1/2 cup crumbled goat cheese
  • 1/2 lemon, squeezed
  • handful of basil, chopped
  • 1/2 roasted bell pepper, diced (used this method…minus the olive oil)
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Using a grill pan or grill, set flame/heat to medium high. Lightly cover the zucchini in olive oil and place on pan/grill. Allow to cook on both sides until grill marks achieved (about 5-6 minutes per side) and set aside to cool.
  2. Meanwhile, in a bowl combine the goat cheese, lemon juice, basil, bell pepper and salt and pepper.
  3. One by one, take a strip of zucchini and place 1 tbsp of the mixture on one end of the zucchini. Roll the zucchini and secure with a toothpick. Continue with remaining zucchini strips.
  4. Crack some extra pepper over plated rolls and enjoy!

Yah, I know. You didn’t need a recipe to recreate. But hey, I’m bored.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

