Food Staples

Today I did a very necessary trip to the grocery store. I don’t think I’ve done a proper shopping trip since before Christmas. It was time.

As I was writing my shopping list (I always have a list – helps me focus and not forget what I actually need and helps to minimize impulse purchases), I realized that my list essentially looks the same all the time. This got me thinking about my “food staples.”

Shopping haul

Warning, this might be boring. But hey, sometimes I am boring.

Any-who, with these basics I’ve found that I can almost always whip up a quick, and usually healthy, meal.

Refrigerator staples:

  • eggs
  • cheese (esp. goat cheese, parmesan, feta, and sliced muenster)
  • fresh vegetables.  Depends on the season and whats on sale, usually a mix of: broccoli, cauliflower, bell peppers, zucchini,red onion,  cucumber, lettuce, carrots, beets, brussel sprouts
  • fruit. Also depends on season. If in season: berries, oranges, apples, bananas (some of these are kept on the counter)
  • greek olives
  • greek yogurt
  • cottage cheese
  • pepperoncini
  • dijon mustard
  • salsa
  • organic milk/almond milk
  • tofu
  • lemons/limes
  • cilantro/chives

Freezer staples:

  • chicken
  • shrimp, peeled and cooked
  • turkey burgers
  • berries (esp. blueberries and strawberries)
  • previously made soups/sauces (when making soup or sauce, I always make extra to freeze for later)
  • spinach
  • deli turkey/canadian bacon

Pantry Staples:

  • short grain brown rice
  • tortillas
  • beans  (usually garbanzo, kidney, and black)
  • diced tomatoes
  • quinoa
  • oats
  • olive oil, vinegar (balsamic, apple cider, white wine, rice wine)
  • honey
  • dried herbs, kosher salt, fresh peppercorn
  • nuts (almonds, walnuts)
  • dried pasta
  • garlic/shallots
  • green tea
  • triscuits/crackers (especially the cracked pepper and sea salt ones! utterly delicious)

Nothing groundbreaking, but I think it’s a good foundation. Now, since I mostly cook and eat for one – I don’t necessarily have all of these things at once (speaking mostly about the refrigerator staples) and I definitely don’t purchase all of these things every single time. Also, these change according to what is on sale and what is in season. Brussel sprouts can sometimes be pretty expensive (not the 88cents/lb I scored today!), while corn on the cob can be insanely inexpensive, etc. But in general, these are my go-to staples. You’d be amazed about how many different meals you can come up with from this list.

What are your staples? Anything I should add?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Our staples are more or less similar. Cute post. When you have the time, do drop by my space. I recently made some whole wheat crepes stuffed with winter squash ragout. Would love to hear what you think.

    Reply
  2. Glad to hear! Funny you just made crepes – my girlfriends and I just decided that we wanted to make those next time we got together for a ladies night. Can’t wait to check it out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

