Unplugged And Recharged

Recharged is the perfect word to describe how I feel. Which is quite the turn from a few days ago (fever, chills, sniffles, etc). Sometimes it feels nice to go “off the grid” for a few days. So that’s exactly what I did. Internet, Facebook, email were all put on the back-burner. Instead, once I was feeling better I enjoyed some long runs along the coast (my new app is so very helpful), catching up on all the books I have been reading, but haven’t finished, and had some great chats with some great friends.

In a word, it was bliss.

I mentioned last week that I attended the SoCal Blogger MeetUp in La Jolla and I promised pictures. But honestly, my camera pictures were not that great.

I blame the Ginger Mojitos I was enjoying.

Terrible pictures aside, I would like to give some attention to one of the sponsors in particular – Orange & Park. They were extremely generous, and donated several of their prints to the event. I was lucky enough to come home with this one:

Image via Orange & Park

I am beyond thrilled with it! I had noticed their prints at the Tap Room, a bar in Pacific Beach, that my boyfriend and I go to often, and I had always loved them. I had even done a search for their prints, but to no avail. So winning was a special treat, although now that I know how makes them I will be a repeat customer – I think I might have to get their California print to go along with my San Diego Beach Town print. You should definitely check out their website, they have wonderful prints and stationary that go beyond California.

I also walked away with this lovely bracelet from Pura Vida Bracelets.

I’ve worn it several times with and without other bracelets, and it’s already become one of my favorite accessories.

All in all, it was a wonderful event. I met so many accomplished, smart, and funny women.  It was very inspiring AND encouraging. There are some women out there making it happen! I met attorneys, women running their own businesses, authors, teachers, etc. It was amazing. I only wish I had the chance to speak with more of them. Thankfully, there’s next time.

And before I sign off a quick word on the Super Bowl.

Admission: I could have cared less who won. In the end I suppose I would have preferred to see the Patriots win. But only because I dislike Eli Manning so much. (Don’t ask, I can’t explain). So the actual outcome was not that important to me. There was the usual eating and drinking, vodka slushee machine, and commercial/Puppy Bowl viewing.

That’s right. I said vodka slushee machine.

From top left, clockwise: Lauren and her traveling bar, baked brie, slushee machine, bacon wrapped jalapenos

It’s nice to know that as we get older, my friends refuse to grow up. Which is fine by me.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

