Some Weekend Eats and a Vow

If you know me even just a little bit, you know I LOVE to eat. Be it home-cooked or at a restaurant, I can shovel down some serious grub.

Here are a few of things I enjoyed this weekend….

On Saturday night, Adam and I enjoyed a quiet night of dinner, dessert and a movie.

From left to right: 1 - Broiled tilapia with lemon and herbs, sauteed vegetables, steamed rice, and bread. 2 - chocolate mousse (used this recipe)

Mental note: make more fish! It was a nice change of pace from the burgers and pizza I’ve been stuffing my face with. It was also nice to have a night in. The night before was spent imbibing in a few too many cocktails and something called Carne Asada Mac and Cheese.

Sunday night we made our way over to the Joint for Tapas and Sushi.

From left to right: 1 - mixed olives 2 - shrimp and grits 3 - filet mignon kebabs

Oh my word – what a fantastic place! Apart from the service, which was a little on the slow side, the food was absolutely fantastic. They also have a great (and cheap!) craft beer selection. We will definitely be coming back for more tapas AND sushi. (We tried the “fiery roll” – nice and fresh and very satisfying)

So, onto my Vow. I realized whilst out to dinner on Sunday that I take WAY too many pictures of food. I came to the realization that I’d much rather stare into the eyes of my beau/friends then take pictures. It’s also annoying. Therefore, unless it’s some sort of spectacular dinner/treat/occasion, I think I’m going to lay off the snapshots and keep the phone/camera in my purse and my attention on what counts – the people around me.

Also, I’m going to try to eat a little healthier for the next two weeks (my jeans are getting a little snug) so you won’t be missing out on anything exciting. Unless of course you think grilled chicken and steamed vegetables is exciting…I really hope you don’t.

Hope everyone else had a lovely weekend? Anyone eat anything special? (I might be laying off the pics, but doesn’t mean I can’t live through others!)

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

