Teach Your Children Some Manners

Or you know, how to hold themselves accountable for their actions.

Last week, my only post was a rant-y, woe-is-me, post about a coffee-infused computer and being busy with work (I know, who isn’t?). Well, I’m happy to say I’m feeling much better. But now that my computer is in working order, let me elaborate quickly on my main debacle last week, because who doesn’t like reading about people’s small problems and complaints on the Internet? (answer: everybody)

Currently, I do a lot of consulting/independent contractor work in the legal/contract management field. So very often, I find myself working from home. Which, by the way, I LOVE. However, occasionally I do get stir-crazy and so I like to spend a few hours at a nearby coffee shop. Last week, during one of my coffee shop excursions, I found myself at the wrong end of a “hit and run” with my computer. And by that I mean, a young teenage boy ran into my table, spilled his iced coffee all over my laptop, and then bolted whilst shouting a quick “sorry, bro!” over his shoulder.

I wish I was exaggerating.

So of course, I panicked. I was in the middle of working on a fairly long and detailed Excel spreadsheet and had not uploaded my progress to my server in well over a week. Also, because I work as a consultant, and my computer truly is my livelihood, I instantly went to that “how am I going to work this week? What am I going to do? My life is over!” place. Luckily, that train of thought lasted about 30 seconds, and I remembered to unplug my computer and pop the battery out. I took a few deep breaths, texted my sister and boyfriend to complain/fill in the details, and gladly accepted the free latte and muffin the nice barrista offered me. What else are you going to do?

Two days later, computer was still not turning on. (I left it completely alone for 2 days, tipped it on its side, and left it in a cool, non-damp place to dry). I had resigned myself to the fact that I was going to be replacing my laptop. The laptop that I’ve had for at most, a few months. Luckily, the weekend came around and provided adequate distraction from my computer situation, and wouldn’t you know, on Sunday when I decided to give it one more try before heading out to Best Buy/Costco/etc to replace it, it turned on and looked no worse for the wear!

So as a result, my disaster that I almost let ruin my week, turned out to be a minor inconvenience in the end. However, if I ever see that little punk again…..well, I’ll probably do nothing. But I do hope at some point, he feels bad for what he did or in the future learns that running away is NOT THE CORRECT ANSWER.

Rant over. Hope everyone had a safe weekend and if you are into that kind of thing, drank plenty of green beer.

p.s. I’m not completely heartless and I understand that accidents happen, and honestly, I wouldn’t expect a child to buy me a new computer – just a proper apology would have sufficed. Also, don’t call me “bro.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

