Puppy Love

I am not ashamed at all to admit that I spend a great deal of my disposable income on my dog.

That would be Valentino with his new (zebra print!) bed, new stuffed duck, new dog mat for his bowls so they don’t slide around and his favorite rope. What you don’t see is that on the table just out of sight are a pack of new rawhides, his favorite dog treats, a meaty bone and another squeaky toy.

But honestly, he deserves it. He is there to greet me every single time I come home, he sleeps at the foot of my bed, and he makes me laugh like nothing else does. This week he has been an especially great source of comfort. I’ve been anxious about something, so much so that I haven’t been sleeping and I’ve been making myself sick over it. I’m sure it’ll end up being fine, but I am a worrier. I don’t really see my boyfriend except for the weekends (he works a lot, plays sports several times a week, etc), so it’s me and the pup Monday-Friday, save the ocassional happy hour. And honestly, if it weren’t for him I’d be on the couch in my pajamas watching Bridget Jones and throwing a serious pity party. Instead, I’ve been eating some seriously good food, re-watching Downton Abbey (so good!), and enjoying a glass of wine….in my pajamas. And Valentino has been there every second. He’s kind of amazing.

Oh yah, before I forget – HAPPY BIRTHDAY LAUREN!!! Every hour spent with you is a joy!

Next time we go out I promise to wear make-up 😉

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I completely understand what you mean by spending a fair chunk of your money on the dog, I too can’t help myself, they are my kids and yes in this area I spoil them rotten. Because I only have them for 12 months I want to spoil them every chance I can. On the other hand I have to work them hard as well so I feel they definitely deserve many rewards 🙂

    Reply
  2. Don’t harm them with kindness:) Especially where excess food is concerned.

    Reply
    • That’s a good reminder! I might “spoil” him, but I definitely keep it in check – no people food, no more than 1 or 2 biscuits a day, bones/rawhides one at a time and not every day. And most importantly – lot’s of exercise! He’s an Australian Shepherd, so we go on two long walks (hour each) a day. Gotta keep him healthy AND happy!

      Reply
  3. If it wasn’t for my Charlie, I’d rarely exercise, rarely laugh, and rarely get my butt off the computer. He’s the best part of my day, as Im sure your little one is too! You’re right, they completely deserve how we spoil them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

