Paint n Vineyard

Lately, my only experience with painting or drawing is limited to “Draw Something” on my phone. My mother is an extremely talented artist (she shows her paintings in a gallery in Az!), and my sister has always been an amazing artist as well. Me? Not so much. I stuck to music when looking for some sort of artistic outlet. So I was more than a little skeptical walking into a girl’s night of painting and wine. Okay, only sort of skeptical. Promise me wine and I’ll show up smiling.

The lovely ladies Olivia, Tammy, Kelsey, and Stephanie organized an amazing night at Paint n Vineyard for about 20 So Cal bloggers. The setup is as follows: you show up and are given a canvas, paint brushes, apron, all the paint you need and an approximately 2-hour lesson where one of their instructors walks you through step-by-step how to recreate a painting. The best part? You are encouraged to bring as little or as much (not too much- you want to be able to actually paint!) wine as you’d like to enjoy during the evening.

my palette

As I mentioned before, I was beyond skeptical that I could recreate the picture that was intended for us. But, to my chagrin….I did! Obviously this was due to Jeff our instructor who was patient, charming and obviously very talented.

I went from this…

to this…

and finally this!

In addition to having a GREAT experience painting, we were lucky enough to be treated to a tasting of 12 Signs Wine. It was amazing! Marie walked us through the different wines, the different signs and why they went together. I may have purchased a few bottles for my own collection that night… You should definitely check it out – apart from the website, her wine is served and sold at several restaurants and bars around San Diego, including my favorite wine bar Finch’s in La Jolla!

It was a great night, and I really am considering going back with a few girlfriends in the future. It certainly doesn’t replace actual art lessons, but I did pick up a few tips about lighting, brush strokes, and hey- I had a heck of a time. I imagine it’s the same sort of vibe as a group cooking class. It doesn’t hurt that these ladies are so fun to spend time with! I’ve had the pleasure of meeting everyone a few times now, and I can say with 100% certainty that theyare the real deal- funny, friendly and talented in many, many ways.

Special thanks to Karina for taking some AMAZING photos… Check out her blog and website – not only does it have several great pictures of the evening, but she is a fantastic photographer (as well as a hilarious lady!).

And last but not least, ACTION SHOT!

Yes, I know I need a haircut and some root touch-up… one of these days I’ll get around to it. One day…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. mariellecoppes

     /  April 4, 2012

    Sounds like a great night! Sometimes I paint at parties (people hand in their shirt and we paint something on their shirt), and i love doing that. I don’t drink wine that much, but the atmosphere is great, painting, fun people, music, drinks, etc 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

