Meh?

The past week or so I haven’t felt like writing anything. My mind has been, well, blank. I haven’t really cooked anything lately. I haven’t gone anywhere extraordinary. I’ve mostly worked, and….existed? Call it a pre-summer restlessness.

Oh wait. I did finally get caught up on ‘Mad Men.’ I’m not going to lie to you, I did NOT like it at first. The first season seemed sooooo slow. And then suddenly, we were in the middle of Season 3 and watching 3 episodes a night. This season has been especially great.

Anyway, Mad Men aside, one other thing I have been doing is feeding my newest addiction. I call it the Walgreens-Target-CVS-who knew they had amazing stuff?- addiction. I know. What?

Let’s just say that I have always had a thing for makeup. I love it. Nothing makes me happier than a new lipgloss or nail polish. Give me an afternoon at Nordstrom and I won’t even make it past the Beauty department. Chanel, Nars, and Bobbi Brown have long been my brands of choice. However, in recent years I’ve been less and less satisfied with my regimen. This probably has to do with me not doing my homework, or not really sampling new products before I purchase them. I’ve been in a makeup rut.

The old standbys:

Unfortunately, in recent weeks I’ve been trying to seriously limit my discretionary spending. And let’s face it, I’m not dipping into my wine fund anytime soon. So I’ve been experimenting with drugstore makeup.

The verdict? Drugstore brands have come a loooong way since I first bought a Covergirl pressed powder. (You weren’t anyone in junior high unless you had that green compact!)

Some of my recent loot:

Some of them have been winners. Some have been ‘meh.’ I think I might go through my favorites in the next few weeks (and actually, the duds too). In the meantime, go get yourself some liquid eye liner by e.l.f. It’s an instant and cheap way ($1!!!) to channel your inner-Joan. And I think we can all agree that that’s a good thing.

p.s. if anyone has some recommendations, send them my way!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I LOVE the e.l.f. liquid liner! I got it the first time just because it was only a $1 but it quickly became one of my faves 🙂 I also have a set of beige-to-brown eyeshadow palette I bought for a couple of bucks and the natural falsies that I love! The only thing I’m not so crazy about from e.l.f. are the bronzers. Too orange-y and obvious for my taste!

    Reply
    • Oooooh! I’m always looking for a good eye shadow palette, ESPECIALLY browns and beiges (can you ever realy have too many?) I’m going to have to check them out! And you just reminded me about the falsies – I tried them for Halloween last year and LOVED them…and then forgot they existed. I need to get some for my next date night!!

      Reply
  2. I dont leave a lot of comments on a lot of blogs each week but i felt i had to here. Do you need many drafts to make a post? 964923

    Reply

Leave a Reply

