Buon Anno

As per usual, my New Years Eve and New Years Day celebrations were both marked by the presence of spirits, and an abundance of food.

The evening portion was fairly low-key and spent at a dinner party with several friends. I stuffed myself for the last time in 2012 with baked fish, vegetables, quiche, plenty of cheese, and chased it all down with plenty of good wine and champagne.

The wine and cheese portion of the night.

The day portion was equally lovely. We started with mimosas, bagels, and lox. The day ended with a trip to the movie theater to see Django Unchained* and, what else? More eating. This time Korean BBQ was the choice cuisine.

New Years brunch at the house

As far as the New Year goes, you won’t find me making any resolutions about healthy eating or exercising more frequently – these are things that are always on my mind. But for the last few months,  I have been trying to make an effort to be more kind and generous of spirit. I think I shall continue that, and hope that we all, to some extent, try to be kinder and generous to those around us.

korean bbq

Stuffing our faces in Clairmont Mesa

Although, I might make an exception to the above, and add “eat more Korean food.” It is seriously delicious.

Happy New Year friends.

* If you like Tarantino movies then you will LOVE it. I enjoyed it thoroughly –it was wonderfully acted, completely irreverent, heavy at times, and accompanied by a fantastic soundtrack. I should mention that in particular, Christopher Waltz is a complete delight in every scene he’s in. I look forward to watching it again.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Yum! Love all of these ingredients!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

